Annapolis Convention

To navigate to the beginning of this website about George Washington, go to

As a result of the Mount Vernon Conference, the state legislatures Virginia and Maryland enacted legislation proposing a follow-up conference to be held in Annapolis, Maryland, inviting the other states to attend as well to consider further steps to resolve the navigation and interstate commerce problems facing the states after the Revolutionary War.  The Annapolis Convention met in September 1786 at the Annapolis State House.  In attendance were 12 representatives from 5 states (Virginia, New York, New Jersey, Delaware and Pennsylvania), including James Madison from Virginia, Alexander Hamilton from New York, and John Dickinson from Delaware.


~ by americanpresidents on March 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: